Student Opportunities     

WashULaw Impresses at Philip C. Jessup Competition

2018 International Law Weekend - New York

WashULaw's Jessup team competed in the International Rounds of the annual Philip C. Jessup Moot Court Competition, 
held from March 31 to April 6, 2019, in Washington, D.C.  A record 143 schools from around the world competed in the 
week-long event. The team placed in the top 30 overall and two oralists, Megan Ferguson, JD '20, and Wenlan Geng, JD 
'19, placed second and third, respectively. This is the first time that Washington University placed two oralists in the top 
five of the competition, an impressive achievement given that more than 450 oralists competed.

From left: Ms. Kristina Houchins (JD '20), Ms. Wenlan Geng (JD '19), Jessup Coach Mr. Gilbert Sison (JD '00), Ms. Megan Ferguson (JD '20),  

Ms. Lola Awobokun (JD '20), and Ms. Emily Brewster (JD '19)

WashULaw students had the opportunity to attend International 
Law Weekend (ILW) 2018, which focused on Why International 
Law Matters. 
This annual meeting of the American Branch of 
the International Law Association (ABILA) was held in New 
York City from October 18-20, 2018.   ILW 2018 considered the 
past, reflected on the present, and surveyed the future of the 
discipline and profession of international law. WashULaw 
students attended the event as Harris Institute Ambassadors 
and were able to explore a wide array of panels and valuable 
networking opportunities. During the 2018 meeting, Professor 
Leila Sadat was voted in as ABILA President for a two-year term.  

ILW 2019 will focus on the Resilience of International Law 
and will be held in New York City from October 10-12, 2019. 
Keynote speakers include William Burke-White, Director of 
Perry World House at the University of Pennsylvania Law 
School; Judge Kimberly Prost, International Criminal Court; 
Miguel de Serpa Soares, U.N. Under-Secretary-General for Legal 
Affairs; Ambassador Stephen Rapp, former U.S. Ambassador-
at-Large for War Crimes Issues; and Dr. Christopher Ward, SC, 
International Law Association President.  Students can register 
for ILW 2019 for free.  

For additional information on International Law Weekend or to 
register, visit 



From left: Ms. Feyga Saksonov (JD '20), Ms. Megan Ferguson 

(JD '20), Mr. Dylan Davis (JD '20), Prof. Leila Nadya Sadat,

Ms. JooRi Kim (JD  '19), and Ms. Lola Awobokun (JD '20)

ABILA President-Elect  Leila Nadya Sadat opens ILW by 

welcoming attendees



Jessup Team