## WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY LAW WHITNEY R. HARRIS WORLD LAW INSTITUTE

# CRIMES AGAINST HUMANITY INITIATIVE JUNE HAGUE INTERSESSIONAL EXPERTS' MEETING LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

### **Steering Committee Members**

Chair: **Professor Leila Nadya Sadat**, Washington University in St. Louis School of Law; Director of the Whitney R. Harris World Law Institute

**Professor M. Cherif Bassiouni**, DePaul University College of Law; President Emeritus of the International Human Rights Law Institute.

**Ambassador Hans Corell**, former Under-Secretary-General for Legal Affairs and the Legal Counsel of the United Nations

**Justice Richard Goldstone**, Fordham University School of Law; former Chief Prosecutor of the International Criminal Tribunals for the Former Yugoslavia and for Rwanda

Mr. Juan Méndez, Scholar in Residence at the Ford Foundation

**Professor William Schabas**, Director, the Irish Centre for Human Rights, National University of Ireland, Galway

**Judge Christine Van den Wyngaert**, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia; International Criminal Court

#### **Expert Participants**

**Judge Carmel A. Agius**, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Judge Joyce Aluoch, International Criminal Court

Ms. Evelyn Ankumah, Executive Director, Africa Legal Aid

Mrs. Silvana Arbia, Registrar of the International Criminal Court

**Ms. Elizabeth Stubbins Bates**, David Davies of Llandinam Research Fellow, London School of Economics and Political Science

Mr. Morten Bergsmo, Senior Researcher, International Peace Research Institute, Oslo

**Professor Wim Blockmans**, Rector, Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities and Social Sciences

Mr. Rob Bokhoven, Netherlands Ministry of Justice

**Ms. Helen Brady**, Special Tribunal for Lebanon, former Senior Appeals Counsel in the Office of the Prosecutor at the ICTY

Ms. Cynthia Chamberlain, Legal Officer, International Criminal Court

**Ms. Sara Criscitelli**, Prosecutions Coordinator, Office of the Prosecutor, International Criminal Court

Professor Robert Cryer, Birmingham Law School

**Judge Pedro R. David**, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia

**Judge Fatoumata Diarra**, First Vice-President of the International Criminal Court

**Dr. Tom Dommisse** 

**Dr. David Donat-Cattin**, Director, International Law and Human Rights Programme, Parliamentarians for Global Action

**Mr. Gareth Evans,** President and Chief Executive Officer, International Crisis Group

**Ms. Claire Fourçans,** Office of Public Counsel for the Defense International Criminal Court

**Dr. Fabricio Guariglia**, Senior Appeals Counsel, Office of the Prosecutor, International Criminal Court

Mr. Christopher Hall, Amnesty International

**Dr. Larissa van den Herik,** Leiden University Faculty of Law

Mr. Omer Ismail, Advisor, ENOUGH! Project

**Professor Mark W. Janis**, University of Oxford and University of Connecticut School of Law

Ms. Chantal Joubert, Netherlands Ministry of Justice

Judge Hans-Peter Kaul, Second Vice-President, International Criminal Court

**Mr. Steven Kay**, Counsel before the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia

**Mr. Xavier-Jean Keïta**, Principal Counsel of the Office of Public Counsel for the Defense, International Criminal Court

Ms. Cecilia Kleffner, Coalition for the International Criminal Court

Professor Dr. Geert-Jan Alexander Knoops, University of Utrecht

**Professor Dr. Claus Kress**, University of Cologne

**Judge Akua Kuenyehia**, Former First Vice-President, International Criminal Court

**Judge O-Gon Kwon**, Vice-President, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia

**Ms. Catherine Marchi-Uhel,** Head of Chambers, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia

**Judge Theodor Meron**, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia

**Dr. Guénaël Mettraux**, former associate legal officer and former defense counsel, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia

**Mr. George Mugwanya**, Senior Appeals Counsel, International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda

Judge Daniel David Ntanda Nsereko, International Criminal Court

Ms. Laura M. Olson, President, Blackletter Consulting, LLC

**Dr. Eugene O'Sullivan**, Member of the Rules Committee (defence representative) at the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, former defense counsel at the ICTY

Mr. William Pace, Convener, Coalition for the International Criminal Court

**Mr. Robert Petit**, Co-Prosecutor for the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia

**Mr. Thomas Wayde Pittman**, Senior Legal Officer, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia

**Judge Kimberly Prost,** International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia

Mr. Stephen Rapp, Prosecutor of the Special Court for Sierra Leone

Professor Dr. Elies van Sliedregt, VU University Amsterdam, Faculty of Law

Dr. Göran Sluiter, University of Amsterdam, Faculty of Law

**Dr. Carsten Stahn**, Programme Director, Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies, Leiden University-Campus Den Haag

Professor Albert Swart, University of Amsterdam, Faculty of Law

Mr. Krister Thelin, Member of the UN Human Rights Committee

Ms. Lorena Toyos-Flores, Legal Intern, International Criminal Court

Mr. Michail Wladimiroff, Wladimiroff & Waling

#### **Rapporteurs**

Ms. Brianne McGonigle, University of Utrecht

Ms. Rumiana Yotova, Leiden University

#### Harris Institute Personnel/Washington University Law

Ms. Amitis (Amy) Khojasteh, Cash Nickerson Fellow

Ms. Linda McClain, Assistant Director of the Harris Institute

**Mr. Steven Cash Nickerson**, JD '85, MBA '93, International Council of the Harris Institute

Mr. Michael Peil, Associate Dean for International Programs

**Mr. B. Don Taylor III,** Executive Director of the Harris Institute and Cash Nickerson Fellow